The Headwaters RDC’s transportation program includes what we call “allocative” as well as “creative” planning activities.  The allocative activities address the distribution of transportation resources, principally federal funding.  In this role, Headwaters RDC helps the Mn/DOT District offices (principally Districts 2 and 4) staff the Area Transportation Partnership (ATP) Committees as they set priorities for the use of federal funds.

We emphasize the creative planning activities because that is where we add the most value to our Region.  In this role we help local governments with planning and development efforts that address their most important transportation problems and opportunities.  In the past we have been heavily involved in efforts to find alternative routes for truck traffic, developing a new scenic byway, and enhancing trail networks.


Areawide Transportation Partnerships (ATP’s)

An Areawide Transportation Partnership concept has been created statewide in order to make transportation funding decisions at the local level.

The Northwest District ATP has been organized according to MnDOT District 2 State Aid Boundaries to include the counties of Kittson, Marshall, Roseau, Pennington, Red Lake, Polk, Norman, Hubbard, Beltrami, Lake of the Woods, and Clearwater.  Representatives from a variety of entities, including cities, counties, MnDOT District 2, transit, industry, tribal, and RDC and MPO are included in the ATP membership.

NW District ATP Membership:

Luane Tasa, State Aid Engineer-Mn/DOT (Chair)
Craig Collison, Assistant District Engineer-Mn/DOT Representative
Kent Ehrenstrom, Mn/DOT Transit-Regional Transit Representative
Earl Haugen, GF-EGF MPO Representative
Ron Lindberg, City of Thief River Falls, Cities > 5000 Representative
Mick Alm, Norman County Engineer, Counties Representative
Warren Strandell, Polk County Commissioner, NWRDC Representative
Don Jensen, Pennington County Commissioner, NWRDC Representative
Dennis Parker, Chippewa National Forest, HRDC Representative
Dave Olsonawski, Hubbard County Engineer, HRDC Representative
Jim Walker, Red Lake Tribe, Tribal Representative

Staff Members:

Josh Pearson, HRDC
Nancy Ellis, Grand Forks/East Grand Forks MPO
Troy Schroeder, NWRDC
Graig Gilbertson, MnDOT

If you have any questions concerning this process, please contact Josh Pearson ().

Please select either of the following two links to learn more about funding options for transportation projects in the Headwaters Region:

Transportation Enhancement
Safe Routes to School


Please select one of the following links to learn more information about activities of the Minnesota Department of Transportation:

Statewide Transportation Plan: 2009-2029
Minnesota Regional Freight Plans
Greater Minnesota Public Transportation Plan


Please click on the following link for information on transportation projects that are part of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act:

Transportation stimulus projects for Greater Minnesota


Please select any of the projects below that interest you to read more about our transportation activities.

Safe Routes to School in Progress for Bemidji School District
Making City and School Connections: Trail Development Underway in Baudette
Lake Country Scenic Byway Association Continues to Grow

top of page


Site by Go Ask Rob